Crusaders!

Standard

A hymn popped in to my head today and I can’t shake it.  

Every Wednesday for 12 years of my christian education we all piled in for chapel and recited the Pledge of Allegiance to the US Flag followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the Christian Flag followed by the Pledge to the Bible and Mr. Smith throwing his Bible on the ground and standing on it to prove that he will “stand firm on the word of god.” 
After prayer and scripture reading we rotely broke into song which is where I’m stuck today.  Rounds and rounds of this hymn plaguing my mind with school year memories.
Onward Christian Soldiers:
Onward Christian Soldiers Marching as to War.  With the Cross of Jesus Going on Before.  Christ the Royal Master, Leads Against the Foe.  Forward Into Battle See His Banners Go!
By the end of the day we would be out cheering on our Crusaders!  What?!?  Our mascot was a Crusader? Who thought that a Crusader was an admirable mascot?  I certainly never questioned it. I was more concerned with the horrid green and gold volleyball uniforms.  
But today I’m questioning having a Crusader as a mascot.  A CRUSADER!!!!  
I can’t find a way to spin it positively.  Christian crusaders slaughtered muslims over The Holy Land during the religious wars of the 11th, 12th and 13th centuries.  Ummmmm…..?????
I mean, call me crazy,  but why not have HS teams called the Jihadists?  Can’t you hear the cheerleaders now? “Go Jihadists.  Go Go Jihadists.”
And so I sit pondering tonight with songs of holy wars, allegiances to christianity, and visions of me in green and gold sitting on my shielded horse righteously slaughtering all my enemies.  Ahhhh memories. 
About ThinkingWithVitality

Wife, mama, certified wellness coach, certified vet tech, adoption and special needs advocate, adventure seeker, wannabe vegetarian, freethinker, knowledge hunter, secular humanist. Love writing, distance running, cycling, hiking, photography, nature, essential oils, natural medicine, traveling, RVs and tents, reading, adventures, organizing, authentic living, good beer, acoustic music and happy to have landed in Costa Rica for this moment in time.

One response »

  1. Yeah, I always hated that song and from about the fourth or fifth grade (when I understood what the Crusaders were) I was very uncomfortable with the mascot our school had chosen for us. Never did understand why any modern day Christian person/group/school/etc. would want to align themselves with the holy war.

    Like

Leave a Reply

