Are We Quailified?

Standard
Pictures of Baby Quail



Spring is here again and as I watch the birds outside what we 
call our Discovery window I am reminded of a question that has
plagued me since last spring: Are we quailified?

Last spring the quails were in our backyard and I found myself

mesmerized by one particular quail family. There was mom, 
dad, and a dozen little ones. The family had been grazing in 
our grass when they decided it was time to hop up and over 
the little one foot wall and head back to the desert. 
Unfortunately one of the dozen little ones couldn’t make 
the jump to get over the wall. I couldn’t believe it…the family 
just abandoned him and then I thought “well they are just birds…
they probably can’t tell 11 from 12. Poor 12 what are we going 
to do with him? I know our dog loves midday snacks.”

For 20 minutes that little guy frantically ran back and forth trying
to get over that wall. He was soon visited by a large bully bird 
and much to my surprise Daddy quail came swooping in and 
relentlessly started attacking the invader until it gave 12 some 
good distance. Daddy quail was there all along…he had never 
abandoned 12. He was just trying to teach the little one that he 
was capable of jumping that wall all on his own. An hour later 
with Daddy’s protection, patience, and guidance 12 finally made
it over the wall and was joined by 1-11 and mom just a few feet
into the desert. 

As I watched this take place I began to question the human race. 
This was a bird, a quail, for goodness sake and yet this quail never 
abandoned it’s 12. We have human beings that are “parents” and 
they show less love and concern to their 1 or 2. We see it every 
day…Parents abandoning their children for drugs, for “love”, 
for careers, for anything selfish…you name it. In that moment I 
wanted to claim myself as one of the quails. As a mom who would 
never leave her child; a mom who would graze nearby while her 
child learned his own capabilities; a mom who loves her 12 as 
much as her 1 and most importantly loved her 12 more than herself.
 My sympathies went to the human race who appeared to be the 
lesser of nature in that space of time. 

A few weeks later I was reminded that a quail is just that…a quail. 

As mommy quail ran across a busy street with her near dozen
 waddling quickly behind her and as daddy quail brought up the rear 
of the bunch I, in one swift moment, took out the near dozen with my
 murderous Honda Odyssey. Stupid quails. In that moment I answered
 my own question: We actually might be quailified afterall!

About ThinkingWithVitality

Wife, mama, certified wellness coach, certified vet tech, adoption and special needs advocate, adventure seeker, wannabe vegetarian, freethinker, knowledge hunter, secular humanist. Love writing, distance running, cycling, hiking, photography, nature, essential oils, natural medicine, traveling, RVs and tents, reading, adventures, organizing, authentic living, good beer, acoustic music and happy to have landed in Costa Rica for this moment in time.

Leave a Reply

