Just Human

Standard

This past week I have been surrounded by people.  And when I say surrounded I mean engulfed in masses of them.  Sunday I ran in the San Diego marathon surrounded by 31,000 other runners and tens of thousands of spectators.  Tuesday and Wednesday we threw ourselves in to the “happiest place on earth” and spent days shoulder to shoulder with other little and big humans alike.
When you run 26 long, repetitive miles and stand in line for hours upon hours you have time to think and so, of course, that’s what I did.  I thought about humans.  I thought about my ideas regarding the human race and how my thoughts have progressed in this journey.
What I say next might seem a little depressing for some but I find it fascinating.  Simply stated, I don’t think humans are all that special.  When you put thousands of us together you realize we are all pretty much the same.  Almost robotic.  Non-thinking.  A little less than unique.  
Sure we have variations in skin color, eye color, shape and size and certainly there are variations in personality but all in all we are not that much different. 
At disneyland I kept thinking about my chickens and how they are each unique but very much the same.  They all leave the coop in the morning, run for treats, and hide from danger but then Fluffy loves to snuggle, Star doesn’t trust anyone, Missy can’t figure out who she is, and Mo is the space cadet who makes us all laugh.  And humans are the same.  We all get up for our daily routines (very similar to everyone else’s daily routine), mindlessly drive our cars, do the same job every day, eat the same foods but we are all slightly different in the way we present ourselves to others.  Some are angry, some are peaceful, some witty, some boring, some happy, some eeyores.  But mostly we are the same. 
It’s a very strange world when you stop believing that you were specifically made by the hand of god.  That each feature you were given is a gift.  It’s like giving up an inheritance, an entitlement that makes you special.  Seeing yourself as just another species on this planet is humbling.  It’s humbling in the sense that I know I am not any more significant than you and you are no more significant than me.  We just are.   Again maybe that’s a depressing statement to many.  I rather see it as beautiful.  It leaves me wondering what our species will be like in another million years. 
Will we have thought ourselves so superior to all others that we will have killed our planet for our own consumption or killed each other out of pure stupidity over religions or money?  Or will we become more enlightened realizing the importance of protecting the planet and each other so our species can continue to survive? 
First we must realize that we are nothing more than just human. 
We are all the same.

About ThinkingWithVitality

Wife, mama, wellness coach, certified vet tech, adoption and special needs advocate, Tucsonan turned Portlander finding her way in Texas, adventure seeker, wannabe vegetarian, freethinker, knowledge hunter, secular humanist. Love writing, distance running, cycling, hiking, photography, nature, essential oils, natural medicine, traveling, RVs and tents, reading, adventures, organizing, helping others, good beer, acoustic music and sadly the time sucking passion of pinterest.

One response »

Leave a Reply

