Is Your View of Me Blurred?

Standard

Ding! Ding! Ding!
This cartoon nails it on the head.

When I was hiding my disbelief and playing the game of Christian people came to me for parenting/marital/financial/life guidance.  The moment I declared my agnostic turned atheist beliefs I was told by many of those same people that sought out my advice that my children are lost, I am lost, my family is damned to hell.  I’m shameful.  I was never really a Christian.  I was even disowned.

I think it’s a shame that the moment my beliefs are not aligned with yours (well they hadn’t been for awhile…the fact is it simply went unnoticed that a long time before I announced my disbelief I had stopped saying I would pray for you or quoting scripture and for years I had stopped saying Merry Christmas and sent holiday cards instead) your vision became skewed.  I am still caring, loving, courteous, understanding, energetic, generous, hardworking, fun, humble, funny, motivated, friendly, a great wife, smart, talented, trustworthy, moral and I would add honest, genuine, a great mom, a great mentor, committed, educated, open-minded, accepting, non-judgemental, a great friend, adventurous and in love with life!

About ThinkingWithVitality

Wife, mama, wellness coach, certified vet tech, adoption and special needs advocate, Tucsonan turned Portlander finding her way in Texas, adventure seeker, wannabe vegetarian, freethinker, knowledge hunter, secular humanist. Love writing, distance running, cycling, hiking, photography, nature, essential oils, natural medicine, traveling, RVs and tents, reading, adventures, organizing, helping others, good beer, acoustic music and sadly the time sucking passion of pinterest.

Leave a Reply

