Torture Machine

Standard

Today was the day I was scheduled to get an MRI for the back pain that has been plaguing me for the last 5 weeks.  Anyone who has experienced an MRI knows that these machines are borderline torture devices.  They slide you into a claustrophobic tunnel of severely loud banging and then tell you to lie still and relax for the next 30 minutes.
Today my MRI technician slid me in to the machine and tortured me one step further by taking me back in time…

Tech: What music would you like to help you relax?  Any FM station will work.
Me: NPR would be great
Tech: I have no idea what NPR is.  Is it an FM station?
Me: Yes.  89.1 and if that doesn’t work 92.9 will be just as good.
Tech: Okay.  Here’s your emergency button.  I’m going to turn down your microphone so I don’t have to listen to the machine.  Just squeeze this button if you need me and only for emergencies.
Me:  Great.  I’m ready.

I am then entered in to the chamber and close my eyes to pretend I’ve not been crammed in to a stifling little mouse hole.  The music starts up and I immediately begin to feel a little panicky.  I’m being transported back to a former self.

NO!  NO!  NO!  Stab me in the eye with a fork!!!!!  NO!  She put in 88.1 KLOVE christian radio!

For the next 30 minutes I try and relax while listening to:
Our god is an awesome CLUNK CLUNK CLUNK RRRRRR CLUNK
He reigns from heaven above CLUNK CLUNK

Commercial pipes in between all the clunking and RRRRRing to which a voice from highschool years starts speaking…
Hi, this is CLUNK CLUNK CLUNK and I’m asking you RRRRRRRR RRRRRRR CLUNK

Does anyone else know of a person that is just exuding God’s greatness?   Love is just flowing CLUNK RRRRRR

I’ll bow down CLUNK cross RRRRRRR worthy CLUNK….

OMG PLEASE GET ME OUT OF THIS TORTUROUS DEVICE!!!!!!!!!

The universe had a good laugh today submitting me to that nasty little joke 🙂

About ThinkingWithVitality

Wife, mama, wellness coach, certified vet tech, adoption and special needs advocate, Tucsonan turned Portlander finding her way in Texas, adventure seeker, wannabe vegetarian, freethinker, knowledge hunter, secular humanist. Love writing, distance running, cycling, hiking, photography, nature, essential oils, natural medicine, traveling, RVs and tents, reading, adventures, organizing, helping others, good beer, acoustic music and sadly the time sucking passion of pinterest.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

